Gilly’s Juke Joint

5 Mar

(Note: I wrote this story maybe 15 years ago when I was heavily reading Ring Lardner’s fiction. I love Lardner’s stuff…it’s a cross between sports journalism and great, American, classic fiction from the early 1900s. I ended up doing a bunch of research for this story…something I don’t necessarily like doing when I write fiction, but it was important I got all theĀ  names right. I never ever have written about baseball, other than in this short piece. As with all of my flash work, I wasn’t interested in plot/action here, just that turn of the 20th century vibe. Hope you dig it)

Read it here:

Leave a Reply

