Bile

11 May

After seven days of swimming in the dirty broth, I began to bring her in to be prodded and pricked for blood. They checked bilirubin levels. A breakdown product of red blood cells.
Product. Again.
They would puncture her miniscule heel with a needle, and squeeze the flesh until the vile would fill with her elegant, crimson life. She would scream and the hole in my chest would systematically enlarge, watching from the doorway, not being able to comfort her. And though I knew it wasn’t life threatening, how do you explain to a week-old infant what is being done? And so I stood with arms crossed, perspiring, watching her watch me, screaming, imploring me. Her eyes were blue then. She asked: “why can’t you help me?” And I shrugged and small drops formed above my lip. The ulcer raged. This is how men are rendered helpless in the face of ordinary, fundamental questions.
Bile salts.
Cholesterol.
Small amounts of copper and other metals.
Force everything into the duodenum.
Four days running this went on.
Until she was cleared. And she came home for good. She won’t ever remember it. They said. They. Yes. But I will.
This is what happens. You never think of yourself, at the end. You just hang on to weird connections. Garbled or otherwise.

6 Responses to “Bile”

  1. slyboots2 11/05/2007 at 2:53 PM #

    Why can’t you help me? Classic. And endless. The scourge that we use eternally, no?

    And I sympathize with Muslips too. They need it. Why can’t we help them? (in my mind I imagine Joe Camel. Don’t know why, but Joe was always so ugly…)

  2. Anonymous 11/05/2007 at 4:24 PM #

    Nice. I like your deft use of html for the formula. I guess you’re learning something over there…editing.
    J

  3. choochoo 11/05/2007 at 9:07 PM #

    “They would puncture her miniscule heel with a needle, and squeeze the flesh until the vile would fill with her elegant, crimson life. She would scream and the hole in my chest would systematically enlarge, watching from the doorway, not being able to comfort her.”

    Oooooh, this part is great. Very powerful:D

  4. Tisha! 11/05/2007 at 9:17 PM #

    I’m in awe.

    now if only I could understand that bilirubin structure…

    She won’t ever remember it. They said. They. Yes. But I will.

    Lovely Lx, simply exquisite! &#9827

  5. Lx 12/05/2007 at 12:19 AM #

    hey sly, i had a friend who looked like joey c. it was quite eerie.

    thanks ms. best and achoo.

  6. Lx 12/05/2007 at 12:30 AM #

    …and J, that’s XHTML buster.
    we’re all modren and updated down here.
    yeeee-haawww boya!
    now git!

Leave a Reply

