A Round of Blues

20 May

The thing I love the most about not being able to sleep is being in a house with people who can crank out their usual 8 hours (or more on a Sunday) as I glide along and make coffee, drink another few fingers of what’s left of the fifth bottle of red, coagulate the junk that floats in the ozone. I pass by them and steal a look and there’s unbelievable peace and honesty and kindness exhuding, and I think that’s the moment to take and hold and store in my pockets, for the times when the holes get so deep that there’s not even a sliver of light invading. Grown men and women finally being honest and vulnerable. An extension of themselves as children. I take these moments quickly because staring at sleeping guests may be misconstrued for insanity, and God knows I am far from that. Yes? This is the first quiet Sunday for me in 17 years. I’m up before the house bumming a cigarette from a mangled pack on the table. I leave an IOU: “next time I’m here, I’ll bring Polaroids so you can laugh at my bowl haircut and brown corduroy Wranglers.” It’s sort of a weird message. But it’s from me, so they’re desensitized to all I say. I have alcohol raging through the veins still. But now it’s ameliorated with caffeine which makes for a strange sort of shaking–oddly just in the left hand. For the first time in 17 years I have no plans and possibilities open up. How does that work?

5 Responses to “A Round of Blues”

  1. slyboots2 20/05/2007 at 4:10 PM #

    I was right with you last night. Same kind of thing, only covered in sleepy cats who resented my intrusion into their nocturnal naptime world. So very quiet.

  2. Lx 20/05/2007 at 11:36 PM #

    oh
    god help you
    if you were with me
    last night
    because if that’s true
    your ass is in the e.r.
    detoxing from alcohol
    poisoning.

  3. Kunstemæcker 21/05/2007 at 7:53 AM #

    It works because it’s logical. It’s a nice place to be.

  4. choochoo 21/05/2007 at 9:57 AM #

    Whenever I can’t sleep, and I’m around people who are sleeping, I get grumpy and play with the idea of choking them with their pillows.

  5. Tisha! 24/05/2007 at 8:13 AM #

    “For the first time in 17 years I have no plans and possibilities open up. How does that work?”

    yep 15 for me…weird feeling…no idea how that works!

Leave a Reply

