Between Work and Freedom (uninspired)

7 Jun

they stacked the hardened clay bricks
with mortar in the sun,
while boys all watched and laughed
then flipped into the blue water with misdirected bravado.
while teenage girls in small bikinis huddled in the shade,
dripping wet, and peeled off their summer skin,
giggling at the awkward, aerial pirouettes
and obtuse washes and smacks.
but all the while keeping score.

spacing mortar joints,
raising the wall on concrete footing,
filling up front chalklines,
buttering up the ends
capped with rowblock headers.

strange song and dance,
this flirtation between
gauche, graceless boys
and girls on the verge of
timeless beauty.
somehow, the lubberly, amorous flit
works.

stretching cord
using a mason’s block at each end,
levelling, buttering ends again,
checking vertical spacing with a story pole,
building leads,
capping the wall with rowblock headers,
again,
and finally tooling the joints.

the truth
lies somewhere in between all this.

4 Responses to “Between Work and Freedom (uninspired)”

  1. slyboots2 07/06/2007 at 3:13 PM #

    Now if Meatloaf was playing in the background from someone’s Subaru Brat, it would be lakeside back in the day. Nice. Evocative.

  2. Anonymous 07/06/2007 at 3:18 PM #

    “girls on the verge of timeless beauty…”
    what a great line.
    contrast it with: “women on the verge of a nervous breakdown” (one of your fave movies, right?)
    J

  3. Lx 07/06/2007 at 3:25 PM #

    Hm. You make the best connections. Didn’t think of that. But yes, one of my favourite films. I love Almodovar (though didn’t dig “Volver” so much).

    Sly, I think I missed the whole “Meatloaf” scene/years. I came here in winter of ’80 and I think his schtick had died down by then. For me, Meatloaf will forever be “Bob” with the mantits from “Fight Club,” and “I will do anything for love, but I won’t do THAT.” Styoooopidest lyric, if you ax me. Don’t know much about “Paradise by the Dashboard Light.” Sue me. I dare ya.

  4. Janete 09/06/2007 at 1:39 AM #

    I really liked that, very evocative, great tempo and well written…

    reminds me of summer days…

    ( it is winter, here, in middle earth)

    All the best :)

Leave a Reply

