Uninspired (simply hired here)

12 Jun

i cannot put together two and two
to make a good, tight one.
cannot even subtract two and two
to leave an empty hole.
whole.
i’m fighting God again,
trudging through ingrained ideas and indoctrination
and dogma
and i’m losing.
only this go round someone else’s life depends on it
not mine.
i’m through with chasing windmills on that front.
rebellion.
maybe you know.
when the revolution comes
i’ll be the one running the other way.
and don’t start in on me with valor and allegiance;
grace under pressure, virtue of patriotism, et cetera.
i’m too old a cat to be hooked with that weak bait.
i just need something simple:
the curved sea wall in Havana
the girl with blue eyes
maestro Rabalcalba playing Elube Chango
and a pitcher of mojitos.
give me two free days like that.
so here i sit
with my shoes mismatched
trying to recall a black and white dream
thanking Langston for patching up the roadway;
the world has tilted and my skin is dark now
from the southern summer sun.
black hands
picking at the concrete wall
help me shatter this
what happens to a dream deferred?
again Langston comes to me
blindsides me.
says to me:
“bring it all you dreamer
so that i may wrap it in a blue-cloud cloth
away from the too-rough fingers
of the world.”
and this is how he saves me.

7 Responses to “Uninspired (simply hired here)”

  1. Anonymous 12/06/2007 at 2:15 PM #

    I love this piece, man. So many directions in one minute’s worth of reading.
    J

  2. slyboots2 12/06/2007 at 2:43 PM #

    A fucking men. Where can I join up?

  3. Anonymous 12/06/2007 at 9:21 PM #

    I love this piece too. I understand the place you’re coming from too. Does it get any better, I wonder?

    Eh

  4. Rachel 13/06/2007 at 1:16 AM #

    Nice.

  5. parisian cowboy 13/06/2007 at 10:10 AM #

    Nice.

  6. Lx 13/06/2007 at 10:12 AM #

    Thank you all.
    Eh, I’m waiting.

  7. Janete 14/06/2007 at 10:06 AM #

    Once again, great work!

Leave a Reply

