Unplugged

17 Jul

the choice:
to eat or not
both fine alternatives
one boiled egg to sustain
one hard walk up the elevation
pushing the rock
knowing it will roll down
before it reaches the top
absurdity
it’s in the cards
it’s in the gods
there are no gods
the gods are dead
they have died of pity for mankind
one syphilitic, fantastically-moustached man
howled that during his stroll
and everyone heard it differently
place your order
patience is not my virtue
ask them
i run a tab at a table
and go to the bar to fill up my pint
where’s the sense in that
patience
grasshopper
i have none
i see the finish line coming at me fast
and so snap snap snap
fill up the pint
before they turn the lights out
a life:
touch it
it will shrink like an eyeball
i’m a riddle in ten syllables
metaphors clumped together like asteroids
i’m a stage
a means to an end
and end to a means
an insignificant life
all aboard
i’ve stepped onto the train
revolving in elliptical loops
of solar speed
looking for a spiritual Caesar
looking for god’s stern angels
i’ve stepped onto the train
with the rest of the tumpet-toppling dead
infamous for their eternal decay
i’ve embarked
and there’s no getting off

9 Responses to “Unplugged”

  1. Clay 17/07/2007 at 12:37 PM #

    I always knew that Jim Morrison was still alive. Now he just goes by the name Lx.
    LoL

  2. Anonymous 17/07/2007 at 12:40 PM #

    Clay is right. This also has Sylvia Plath in it, too.
    Jay

  3. slyboots2 17/07/2007 at 3:06 PM #

    I like the Sisyphus reference. He was no sissy. Also the flow is delishus. And no doubt nutrishus.

    So let’s hope that the train you’ve hopped is the Gravy Train! heh heh heheh. Damn, I crack myself up. Time to get a job. Hey- I did that already! heh heh heh. See what I mean? Funny. That’s me.

  4. Lx 17/07/2007 at 3:34 PM #

    Clay, you think? I’ll have to do a past-life regression…of course Jim died when I was already alive, so maybe there’s some kind of channeling thing going on.

    Jay, I don’t dig Sylvia. Thanks.

    Sly, the Bavaria is a BIG HIT in this office; there’s a guy with whom I share my office who drives a 1972 BMW 2002. He fell in love with your white Bav. And yeah, I’m ready for that gravy train. I love gravy. And I love trains. So why not?

  5. Clay 17/07/2007 at 5:23 PM #

    LoL, I just threw the Jim thing out there because the piece made me think of him. I like that particular style of thought provoking phrases. I’m sure it could be interpreted a million different ways. Good job!

  6. Lx 17/07/2007 at 7:22 PM #

    Clay, I think for fiction, and for something like this (a blog), writing ought to be “bendable” or “plastic.”
    You take it, and make it what you need it to be, for you.
    But that sounds oh so virtuous and highbrow, doesn’t it.
    So ignore what I just said.

  7. Clay 18/07/2007 at 2:58 PM #

    LoL, Too funny lx.

  8. Janete 20/07/2007 at 8:11 AM #

    lovely….

  9. Lx 20/07/2007 at 9:54 AM #

    thanks janete.

Leave a Reply

