The Labyrinth Man

10 Aug

All I remember from when I was born was bandages. I was wrapped in bandages. They don’t believe I remember that, but there are no photographs of me as a newborn. And no one ever told me about the cotton cloths. So how could I have made that up? The bandages were my skin. They held in my organs, and when the doctors cut the dressing, my liver slipped out. Then all I remember was sirens on a loop. When I see calf’s liver in the grocery store I feel like I’m going to vomit and I get a dull pain in my right side. So now I’m on vacation. My baby boy has no ears. He whines all through the night. I stay up with him and coddle him and sometimes I talk to the man inside my radiator. He hammers at the pipes in place of words. You know, like if you were trapped in a submarine? And they were trying to rescue you? One hit for yes. Two for no. There are other signals but they’re too complicated to get into here. Last night I had a nightmare and I flung myself out of bed, reciting the alphabet in a very distressed, tormented way. ABCDE… In the doorway, while I pissed and then washed my face from the horrors of the dream, stood an amputee who pointed to his penis with his head and said: Don’t it look like a pencil with an eraser? Don’t it? Heh? Well? As a child I was abused by a leather belt but I don’t use that old excuse. What I really like to do is take photographs of dental work. Cavities, abscesses, bridges, crowns, exposed nerves, bleeding gums, cases of advanced gingivitis. That’s my hobby. One day I’m going to grow a grandmother out of clay and seeds. I’m going to grow her on my bedroom floor. I’m going to water her and she’ll sprout from the wood. She is going to protect and shield me from this lousy life. One day.

6 Responses to “The Labyrinth Man”

  1. MsFreud 10/08/2007 at 12:22 PM #

    Incredibly rich imagery and beautiful prose.. something touching yet disturbing. Well done blog. :)

  2. Anonymous 10/08/2007 at 1:16 PM #

    So strange. Your MIND is a labyrinth. I wonder, do you ever find your way ot of it?

  3. slyboots2 10/08/2007 at 2:24 PM #

    Been watching Lynch again, have you? Good for you. Because she wore blue velllvet.

    We got a new tv last night- absurdly large and all flat, etc. And I cannot wait to drop Twin Peaks season 1 into the player and go someplace odd and familiar.

  4. Lx 10/08/2007 at 2:36 PM #

    thanks ms. freud.
    anon, no; the minotaur always kicks me back.
    sly, i love lynch. adore him. your neck of the woods. missoula, i believe.

  5. Anonymous 10/08/2007 at 3:21 PM #

    the minotaur has been lax. I know you’ve been out of your mind a time or two.

    L7

  6. Lx 10/08/2007 at 4:32 PM #

    as have you, kind sir.
    damn…miss you.

Leave a Reply

