Leil

12 Sep

“Seems like she oughta have had an a at the end of her name. Leil sounds so…masculine, really; doesn’t it?”
“I don’t know. I know a famous Leil. A writer.”
“Man or woman?”
“Woman.”
“Well, still. It’s just so unusual.”

Last time I heard from Leil she was calling from Montreal. I was sixteen. I was drunk on two bottles of Riesling and couldn’t handle hearing her problems anymore, so I put the phone down next to the speaker and played Mad Professor dub while I passed out. A few hours later I picked up the receiver and listened and the line was still open. She was crying. I left her like that. In December of that same year, the eviction officers forced their way into her house and found her body decomposing on the kitchen floor among stacked mattresses and piles of garbage and unpaid bills and cat boxes full of stinking litter. The coroner concluded she had committed suicide a few weeks before. She had left a handwritten note which bequeathed some sort of important painting to me, but I never received it. I guess her family decided to keep it and sell it.

2 Responses to “Leil”

  1. slyboots2 12/09/2007 at 2:41 PM #

    Christ- if Leil was really her name, then there is a creepy similarity to a Leil who we knew- also batshit, and also sad as hell.

    Moral to the story- do NOT name your daughter Leil. She will be doomed to craziness.

  2. femme d'espoir 12/09/2007 at 7:56 PM #

    hmmm.. this is familiar

Leave a Reply

