makes a whole

6 Nov

She calls to tell me she’s made a whole series of drawings on hand turkeys, and that she’s worked on them the entire day. Then she tells me I’m a good cook. Her voice breaks and bends around the mountains and I lose her at points. I try to fill in the electronic blanks. I stand and wait on the line with a fixed smile until she comes back in range, already in the middle of another thought. Another adventure. She sings to me: “…a whole new wooorld…” her voice trails again, lost between cell towers, then back: “…from Aladdin.”
Three pieces come together to form my whole. Three generations. I live and move in between them all. Some days they leave a trail of melancholy, others they lift me and erase all the potholes into which I’ve fallen.
I loathe the mirror.
It’s 6 a.m.
Unremitting burdens.
Then, invariably, it’s time to go. Let it all begin.
Rain.

Leave a Reply

