What’s Important–A Variation on Joseph K.

8 Nov

“What would happen if I were to forget. It’s not a question, really. If I were to ask endlessly: did we kiss? did you speak? did I sleep? did I lose my child? did I ever have a child? where’s my wallet? I bring my things with me; carry them in boxes…careful not to shatter them on one hand, on the other, wishing I’d just drop the load and start over. What would happen if I were to be arrested one day and accused of a crime, but not told what it was. Mount up a blind defense. I am more competent than kind. Accused of what? I am not innocent. Innocent of what? Establishing the bureaucracy. Taking part in the bureaucracy. Functioning within a system of exploitation. Perhaps contributing to it. And now: cleansing myself of melancholic dreams in a holding cell, waiting on the gallows. What if declaring guilt is the means to a salvation. I am innocent. I am innocent. I am innocent.”

3 Responses to “What’s Important–A Variation on Joseph K.”

  1. Dyna Girl 10/11/2007 at 12:08 AM #

    I am more competent than kind…love it.

  2. (S)wine, Inc. 13/11/2007 at 3:37 PM #

    thanks dyna

  3. Janete Cabral 18/11/2007 at 2:04 AM #

    I could just sit for hours reading your stories…but alas no internet at the moment.

    I am sitting in Esquiries coffee shop, ward street, hamilton. Drinking my espresso, using up my free wireless voucher for the hour…Thinking of friends and stories….:)

Leave a Reply

