Cloudy Stream

20 Nov

There are things I remember from when I was two years of age. Holding on to my grandmother’s hand, going down into the basement of the Press Building. Spelling out letters on the Scala marquis, on my way to daycare on the streetcar. At three, I looked down at the parade of black cars on boulevard Magheru; one of them carrying Richard Nixon…first U.S. President to visit Romania. My mother was his translator. The following year she worked with Kissinger. Thirty-five years later, I leave an insignificant footprint, as I drain the last of the bottle of cognac. Everyone is asleep, but people I know are suffering. They’re caught in the throes of depression and physical pain. Are you smoking? A red Citroen pulls up to the kerb. I prank knock on some famous director’s front door. Sign here. We appreciate what you’ve been doing, how you’ve been comporting, you’ve been a valuable asset to this organization. I look up at her and say: where do I sign? Just get to that page. Venom and vermin come back up the esophagus. It’s not her fault. I know that. But it haunts me. Those days. Those months. An insignificant hour. A useless event in the cosmic chaos of a baby universe. And I cannot resign myself. This speck of carbon with a heartbeat. Into the new day, I work on cognac and fighting off the demons. She knows all of this. We play the game every night. Silver. Black. Two small, red lights flashing like the house in the Amityville Horror. I am hearing voices again. I am seeing obtuse lines on the ceiling made by…an old Russian exorcism. “The power of Christ compels you.”

fade in:

A red Citroen. I load three cases of white grapes at Ostrov. Stream of consciousness writing. Cognac raging through the veins. The gods are immortal. Send a message in a bottle. Send down a ladder. A helping hand.

6 Responses to “Cloudy Stream”

  1. slyboots2 20/11/2007 at 4:53 PM #

    I don’t know if it helps, but this sinking ship is not only losing the rats, but has an intact lifeline. It can be fun to sink en mass. Just bring some decent hooch.

  2. (S)wine, Inc. 21/11/2007 at 11:29 AM #

    the budget now allows for only “decent” hooch. so that’s done. you’re in charge of bringing “the good stuff.” i’ll pick up the slack a bit later, when i win the lottery.

  3. dr zombieswan 21/11/2007 at 2:15 PM #

    Hey, if we’re sinking, then we only need one bottle of good stuff. After the first one, you can’t taste the bad of the bad stuff anyway. :)

    No rats!! I’m tired of that word. :)

  4. (S)wine, Inc. 21/11/2007 at 3:24 PM #

    maybe YOU can’t taste it after one bottle, but some of us require a bit more than that. i say: bring at least two…at least!

  5. momentofchoice 21/11/2007 at 3:47 PM #

    does wine in a box count?

  6. (S)wine, Inc. 21/11/2007 at 3:54 PM #

    mhm.

Leave a Reply

