A Weird Trajectory

21 Nov

“What’s strange is the hole in the wall the bullet left after it ricoched off his head,” he said a bit nonchalantly. “The pistol he used was his old Luger, you know.” He had finished cleaning up the house and was now standing in the middle of the empty great room, looking at nails where photos and art canvases had hung all those years.
“Think the new owners’ll mind if I leave these things in? Anchors are a bitch to pull, and they leave huge craters. Besides, it sort of goes with the hole…all this shrapnel embedded…”
The girl shook her head. He walked over to where the lead projectile had been lodged in the wall, above where the couch had lived. He thought he should’ve at least puttied up the violent perforation.
“Jesus. For some odd reason, I’m thinking of that stupid joke: what’s the last thing that goes through a bug’s head before being squashed on the windshield of a speeding car?”
The girl blew air through her nose suddenly and smirked.
“His ass.”
She smirked again.
“Why would I think of something like that?”
“Because you’re probably warped,” she said.
“Maybe. Still, he was my father.”
They walked through together, and shut closet doors and windows. There was a dead wasp in the middle of the upper bedroom, on the wood floor.
“It’s a good omen,” he said. “I’ll leave it for the new owners.”
“You are warped,” she said.
“No, it’s a good omen, I’m telling you.”
“Mhm.”
“…in my culture…”
“Mhm.”
Their voices bounced off empty walls. There was no melancholic goodbye, just a systematic closing of the house.
“Make sure you take the broom on the way out,” she said.
“These bastards left their shopvac in the garage.”
“Take it.”
“I don’t care. I don’t want it. What am I gonna do with a shopvac?”
They shut the door behind them and walked through the fiery red maple leaves that had swallowed up the yard voraciously.
“You should’ve raked.”
“It’s all right,” he said. “The new people will do it. I’m done with it. I’m done with all of it.”
“You want to go get a drink somewhere?”
“Sure.”

3 Responses to “A Weird Trajectory”

  1. Anonymous 21/11/2007 at 5:04 PM #

    Very Hemingway like.

  2. slyboots2 21/11/2007 at 5:07 PM #

    Concise and to the point- with plenty left unsaid (as it should be). Very good.

  3. Parisian Cowboy 24/11/2007 at 3:46 PM #

    I’m happy to read that you’re as good as ever. Just a quick note : I’ve changed the URL of my blog : it now is : http://parisiancowboy.blogspot.com

    Have a nice day, my friend.

Leave a Reply

