Movie Tragic Magic

18 Jan

It ain’t so bad, if you watch the home made thing. Certainly ain’t all like Hollywood makes it. I mean, it’s tragic, the kid blows his head off at the end of his racist diatribe, but it ain’t like the movies where the blood splatters all on the wall. He just puts the barrel inside his mouth and pulls the trigger. You can kinda see where the skull expands up there. His head is shaved and he’s wearing some kind of Colonel Kurtz-type camouflage paint on his face. Anyway, it’s sort of fucked ’cause after he pulls the trigger he goes down groaning hard, which means he’s feeling it. He’s still feeling it for like, two or three seconds. And he goes out of the frame, but you can hear the blood coming out of his head. That’s how it goes. I’ve seen decapitations on tape and executions, but never a suicide. It’s all fucked though. This kid, the day he pulled the trigger, he sent a bomb through the mail to that famous singer from Iceland. The package was meant to explode in her face, covering her in acid and probably killing her. On the tape, before he kills himself, he spews out a shitload of racist comments.
Hate.
The only thing that lasts.
I don’t know really what to think. I just feel shitty watching it, despite the ideas and words. I feel bad for the kid. Maybe someone could’ve helped him. Sometime. Before it got bad enough that he videotaped himself going out. Everything’s fucked, really. In the world I mean. Nothing’s true anymore. Can’t trust anyone. Can’t trust what’s on labels. Can’t trust what they’re saying.
Myth of Sisyphus.
What’s that? Absurdity.  It takes you down from the inside out thoroughly.
Anyway, I gotta go. I’m coming in for an 8 to 5 and we’re showing Harry Potter and the something something in sync in three theatres. I gotta thread up the print and run it up along the wall and drop it down into multiple projectors. Last time I did that it was Out of Africa. I don’t understand why people liked that movie so much. Who gives a shit about some Danish Baronness. Who gives a shit about aristocracy in general?

2 Responses to “Movie Tragic Magic”

  1. Slyboots 21/01/2008 at 8:30 PM #

    I’m a sucker for Sisyphus. Any mention. Makes me all happy. And isn’t there a magazine about aristocracy in general? Or fifty? I thought so.

  2. (S)wine 22/01/2008 at 12:17 AM #

    I have to-day off, and so, as it’s 27 degrees and plunging, we opened up the Cab-Shiraz blend and off we were dissecting Sisyphus and the Existentialists in general. ‘Cause that’s how we roll on my day off around here. Not in a highbrow kind of way, just going on living. It beats pontificating on who was more horrible on American Idol. Doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

