N’awleans

1 Apr

In New Orleans I stayed in the Garden District.
Don’t like the French Quarter.
Snuck into a walking  Haunted House tour, which started at the Garden District Book Shop; first shop to carry Anne Rice’s novels.
Saw Trent Reznor’s home.
Saw Anne Rice’s.
Saw others’.
Saw a Mayflower truck move a family of four into an 18th Century mansion.
People took photos of…
People wondered if any ghosts inhabited the…
Ice machine was broken on the fifth floor of the Pontchartrain.
So I travelled up to the ninth.
Saw the ghost of W.C. Handy.
Buddy Bolden.
And Jelly Roll Morton.
I drank bourbon.
Sometimes too much.
I kept the bottles on the nightstand by the pillow.
At 3 a.m. the alarm in the adjacent room started blaring.
It went on for thirty-eight minutes before it was cut off.
Then the telephone began to ring.
It went on for sixteen minutes.
I had coffee and beignets at Cafe du Monde at midnight.
Again.
And again.
I had a muffuletta at the Central Grocery.
I had a Ralph Po’ Boy at Mother’s on Poydras.
And went back for debris.
Debris is the slew of shavings off a freshly-carved roast.
Soaked in gravy.
I got drunk and did my laundry at the same time at Igor’s while being talked to by an unemployed pirate.
Then a monsoon hit.
For ten minutes.
The woman playing video poker behind me kept saying: “Oh Lawd, here it come agin.”
I watched a man carrying a serval in a cage, looking for a hunk of meat to feed the cat.
Shared a cigarette on a stoop on Dauphine St. with a transvestite who practiced voodoo.
She cast a spell on me.
I still haven’t won the lottery.
Watched the black boys tap dance and threw them crumpled-up bills.
Listened to the blues.
Jass.
Ran into Branford Marsalis at the urinal of the Preservation Hall.
Jazz.
Took the streetcar into the French Quarter.
Don’t like the French Quarter.
Big news last time I went was Anne Rice moving into a gated community outside the District.
Big news last time I went was levies failing.
Structures and foundations failing.
Government failing.

7 Responses to “N’awleans”

  1. writerchick 01/04/2008 at 1:39 AM #

    (S)wine you always give me something to think about and imagine.
    WC

  2. Matt 01/04/2008 at 4:48 PM #

    this is really nice. I find it takes new forms the more I read it.

  3. (S)wine 01/04/2008 at 5:16 PM #

    Thanks all.

  4. Kunstemaecker 01/04/2008 at 5:49 PM #

    What’s wrong with the French quarter?

  5. (S)wine 01/04/2008 at 5:53 PM #

    I think this guy would say that it’s too full of fat, obnoxious tourists; too full of shit-strength hurricanes and piss-water beer, instead of proper drinks. That’s what I think this guy would say.

  6. Parisian Cowboy 03/04/2008 at 4:26 PM #

    I’ve always been curious about this city. I’ll be in NYC next week but won’t make it to NO this time. Newt time. BTW, I realli like the new design of this blog. Cheers.

  7. (S)wine 03/04/2008 at 5:32 PM #

    Cowboy, you have GOT to go next time you’re in the States. Forgo NYC (although I have an inkling why you keep returning there) and hit the Crescent City. Cheers back.
    p.s. drop off some good wine on your way out to New Orleans. You know where I reside. You don’t? Damit!

Leave a Reply

