Schisms of Kukulcan

8 Jul

–Funny, he doesn’t look like I thought he might, she says.
–No?
–No.
–What does he look like?
–Bruce Nauman.
–Who’s that?
–The artist who studied Maths and works in sculpture and neon and video. The contemporary artist. His interest is in language. He often plays with it, in a mischievous way.
–I don’t know him.
–Well, then…take my word for it, she says.
–All right. I believe you. I’ve always thought Death would come in the form of a milkman on a bicycle.
–Death is not the same.
–I know, I’m just saying.
–And so? Does he?
–Death?
–Yes.
–Sometimes. Other times he’s Compton in a tweed jacket.
–Who’s that, she says?
–The main character in Hemingway’s “Snows of Kilimanjaro.”
She laughs: –Death as the Saviour. Compton is the man who airlifts Harry, right?
–In the dream.
–Why not the old fisherman in Cuba?
–Because the old man fails with the fish. And Death doesn’t.
–Does he? Does he fail, she says.
–I don’t know…
–You ought to. You can make Death anything you want.
–Except go away.
She laughs: –You can do that too. It’s spherical.
–What is?
–It’s all right. You want to leave your baggage with me?
She points down at the floor. It’s slightly flooded. They are in an ante-room, just off the main parlor. The walls meet up the ceiling high above them, and are stained by rusty watermarks near the intersection with the beams.
–I shouldn’t…
–You ought to. Leave them here. Then you can go empty-handed.
–I shouldn’t…
–Leave them. Leave your baggage with me. And then say goodbye and go.

(Author’s Notes)

4 Responses to “Schisms of Kukulcan”

  1. Slyboots 08/07/2008 at 11:58 AM #

    Death looks like an old, bald Syd Barrett. On a bike. With eyes that look into places that you can’t go.

    and I like this one muchos.

  2. J.A. 08/07/2008 at 12:08 PM #

    I don’t have the slightest idea about how Death looks like. Except the eyes. I imagine them to be warm; in any case this is good!

  3. brandon 08/07/2008 at 2:22 PM #

    Death gets a bad rap. But he is the only one who believes there’s not enough Charon in the world.

  4. (S)wine 08/07/2008 at 7:58 PM #

    Death looks like Michael Chertoff. Or Anne Coulter. There ISN’T enough Charon in the world. Or sharin’. Oh Sheri?

Leave a Reply

