Judge Penitent (a confession)

13 Jul

As you slide toward the inevitable, the belt loosens bit by bit. You allow for more and accept and survive within more. If you are even atheist, your place for the confessional—wherever physically or ethereally that may be—becomes integral, but not out of guilt like in Catholicism or any other religion employing this infernal and historical means of control; instead out of responsibility for those who come behind you who might need some sort of blueprint or lucidity. It is certainly not The Way and in no means am I making myself a teaching pariah, but it is at the very rudimentary level, a beaten footpath dissecting quicksand and mud, Hephaestus and The Pterodactyl, which occasionally extricates itself from the sticky stuff only to fly above and fling off mud from its heavy wings. And if you disagree with that, then hell with it too. This is my contrition.

I am not important. Allow me that. Allow yourself that, should you consider yourself progressive. Yes, I may go on to discriminate and make decisions and judgments befitting a certain lifestyle or conduct such as with whom I shall have this drink and discuss this book, but on the larger moral scale, I am not important. Nor am I in the very least relevant. I cannot (as Man himself) act as Judge Penitent or Jury or Executioner or any small form of the three. The condemned answer to someone else. Because there will always be The Law in some form; those insufferable, dominating souls we cannot get rid of. Which brings in question the guilt of the condemned in the first place. The subjective nature of the law of men has made me suspicious enough to divorce myself from society in general. I am here for the pictures. I am here to appear in them as a document of edification for my children. That’s me mum right there or that’s me da, proud ‘n all.

As you slide toward the inevitable, your belt loosens bit by bit. The overwhelming desire to censure, and archaic opposition to movement or change become succubi or parasitical sycophants gnawing on the grey matter. That is the more accurate definition of dementia. Make no mistake.

This is my avowal. Please have a seat. I’m buying the first round. I insist.

3 Responses to “Judge Penitent (a confession)”

  1. Slyboots 13/07/2008 at 10:47 AM #

    Oh, most certainly. Assuredly yes.

  2. Project Host 13/07/2008 at 11:21 AM #

    Really nice. Just wonderful words for a Sunday or, well, any day.

    I think you should contribute to this online writing project. Check out the details at: http://stuffishouldhavesaid.wordpress.com/

    Have a wonderful day…

  3. (S)wine 13/07/2008 at 1:18 PM #

    Thank you for visiting Project Host;
    Sly, pick your poison. I have cash.

Leave a Reply

