(S)wine on Facebook

2 Nov

Thanks for continually coming here to read. There are, admittedly, strikes and gutters, but hopefully you’ll find something resembling a spare. In an attempt at shameless self-promotion using “the new media,” I’ve set up a page on Facebook for (S)wine, so if you want to become a member or a fan, check it out here.

There are myriad advantages to becoming a member. For example, Mondays are $1.99/lb. cube steak specials (“Recession Meat”). Also, as a unique treat, you will receive from time to time little baggies filled with Ju-Ju Beans, Jujy Fruits, Ja-Ja Fingers, or Gi-Gi Bears–morsels of delicious candy that have been inadvertently dropped on the floor by patrons in movie theatres, which I then skillfully collect especially for members.

Note: This Tuesday we’re celebrating “Beat The Vote Out of Someone You Know” where you get to roam the streets of your hometown equipped with a Louisville Slugger, making sure everyone with whom you may be acquainted makes it to the polls.

So come on, join now for three easy payments of…

But wait, if you sign up within the next five minutes, you get an impromptu, personal visit from yours truly at an unspecified, ungodly time of the early morning. I will be wielding a giant, Swiss cowbell and a drumstick and I will personally serve as your alarm clock for that day.

Act now!

(My name is Mud, and I approved this message)

4 Responses to “(S)wine on Facebook”

  1. Cliff Burns 02/11/2008 at 11:37 AM #

    FACEBOOK is a good networking tool…but you need to have friends to have any reason to join and with my solitary, sedentary existence…well…

    On the other hand, my wife and one of my sons FACEBOOK regularly and have garnered a community of folks that make me whine with envy. Reputedly Dane Cook (comedian) has FACEBOOK to thank for his initial breakthrough.

    Hope it’s similarly helpful for you, Alex. Your writing deserves attention and a wider readership…

  2. Geoff 02/11/2008 at 10:04 PM #

    Anything that can get your words to more readers, Alex — a good thing. I wish you a “stairway to success,” with “success” being defined by you, of course. … A toast to those words, always.

  3. Geoff 03/11/2008 at 9:41 AM #

    I responded before the cube steak special was noted, and posted. Even more incentive. The deal gets better all the time. Alex — you had me at “words.”

  4. Slyboots 03/11/2008 at 11:35 AM #

    I am so reluctant to go all facebooky- I am myspacey already, and have 3 personal email accounts, one business one, and am on IM whilst at work all day. I feel so connected that I could cry. I read my work email on my phone. It all hurts. I want to go under a rock and write my luddite manifesto. But then I remember what pays the bills. And then I stop feeling so sorry for myself, and remember that there is always Youtube. Where you find this gem:

Leave a Reply

