Morning in America-Take 2(008)

5 Nov

This morning, Wednesday November 5, 2008 there is much to do that resembles most every day in my life:
There is the ever-present bout of insomnia with which to contend, and its nearly debilitating effects on my psyche and physical scars on the body overall (clocked 2 hrs. of sleep last night).
There is the job to rush to and the daily duties to complete.
There are the bills to pay.
There are the complicated feelings and emotions to traverse (and transcend) without a little imaginative girl twirling and pirouetting into my every day.
There is paperwork.
Fiction work.
How much is a gallon of gas to-day?
Milk this week; the little one is coming soon.
Pasta? Again?
The cheap coffee, the one in the large can. Yea, get that one.

All of that, and more, is here again this morning. That never changes. Will never change for me. I know I’m not destined for anything stellar in history, nor am I really interested. I will forever be the functionary Walter Mitty with too big dreams to fill my shoes. Only something feels different this cool, rainy, dreary morning.
Possibility.
Possibility for my four-year-old to attend university on a student loan. Possibility for social programs to help people who need one last chance. Possibility to travel without being questioned or interrogated or searched. Possibility for a raise at work. Possibility to clean up all that we’ve dis-assembled and soiled the last thirty (or more) years.

This morning, for most of us in America, there is Hope.

(For a continuation of this, go here)

8 Responses to “Morning in America-Take 2(008)”

  1. Geoff 05/11/2008 at 10:09 AM #

    Alex, your words are eloquent, and hit the point exactly.

    As the late Studs Terkel liked to say/write: “Hope dies last.” Last night, this country proved that Hope is alive and well.

    To the infinite possibilities of “being.”

  2. Slyboots 05/11/2008 at 11:32 AM #

    Oh, HELL Yeah! There was a hootin and a hollerin at casa de S. last night. When it was announced on MSNBC we switched to CNN to be sure. And then to Fox to really be sure. And then I cried. I could still do that- such an emotion. Such an emotion.

  3. Stef 05/11/2008 at 10:13 PM #

    Interesting times, for sure =)

  4. Paul 06/11/2008 at 6:12 PM #

    Most networks called North Carolina for President Elect Barack Obama. How does it feel living in a blue state? ;)

  5. (S)wine 06/11/2008 at 6:16 PM #

    It’s pretty much a done deal here in NC. It feels good; I’m usually blue anyway. Har.

  6. Erin O'Brien 09/11/2008 at 8:52 AM #

    I know that coffee baby–am thankful for each rough swallow of it.

    If you twirl the spaghetti with a certain flair, it may tell you a story.

  7. Tom 09/11/2008 at 1:41 PM #

    Word. I must confess I am still pinching myself. I always thought at the end that the Republicans would manage to pull off one more October Surprise, or that there would be more shenanigans at the ballot box.

  8. (S)wine 11/11/2008 at 11:00 AM #

    Tom, hopefully this is the end of the GOP Rove-ian tactics.

Leave a Reply

