burn this one after reading

29 Jan

there’s bad craziness in Ohio and L.A.
shotguns going off against temples
soft flesh violated by corroded metal
men and women painted into corners
insanity
urgency
madness
as the teenage barrista
twirls her hair
gives me change
and declares to someone listening:
“i’m bored. my boyfriend sucks.
he’s gotta work on Valentine’s Day.
life stinks.”

5 Responses to “burn this one after reading”

  1. chapman 29/01/2009 at 5:22 PM #

    that pretty much sums it up. vonnegut would be proud.

  2. (S)wine 30/01/2009 at 1:28 PM #

    I got nothin’. Good evening.

  3. Kim Wells 30/01/2009 at 5:27 PM #

    Yups. You gotta love the self-centered. How many of them does it take to change a lightbulb? Only one. They hold the bulb and the world revolves around them. Thank god, otherwise, what would the rest of us do with our pathetic selves.

    My mom sent me a link to this blog where they were whining that they had to cut back because their boyfriends were laid off… they had to go to a regular spa instead of an exclusive one; they had to go to pilates class instead of private lessons.

    Poor things. Poor poor things is there no justice?

    I tried to post the link but it doesn’t seem to work. I wonder if my mother just gave it to me wrong or they took it down. Anyway. I was gonna tell you to go there and let them make you need to drink but apparently no link.

  4. (S)wine 31/01/2009 at 10:25 AM #

    Kim, I read that on the NY Times yesterday. Amazing. Apparently, there’s no money for the mistresses and they’re pissed. I put up a more thorough explanation on the FB Swine member page about this piece; I didn’t really mean it to sound judgmental, just sort of that the world revolves and certain sides are hit by the sun and certain sides are not. People’s troubles are subjective, I suppose.

  5. Erin O'Brien 02/02/2009 at 5:10 PM #

    I remember walking and walking, listening to heartbreaking coverage of the Katrina coverage on my iPod. I remember going by the ice cream stand, thinking about the people agonizing over vanilla bean or butter crunch while another man wept in my ear over the wreckage of his life, wept harder when he found a soggy book of photos floating among it all.

    Hi there, AP.

Leave a Reply

