dylan thank you

3 Mar

i ran across the dylan thomas poem
while in a horrific hole
and his words: and death shall have no dominion
carried me through four thousand miles of asphalt
in an orange Kharman ghia with a leaky oil pan
while i ate canned noodles in flea infested motel rooms
and checked the sports page every few days

on the tape i rolled
bruce cockburn
and some other canadian
who my wife, years later,
lifetimes later,
spotted doing laundry in a coin-operated joint
off of Queen Street in Toronto.

the dogs of war
tear the flesh apart
while we smile and spin our batons
in perfect suburban dissonance.
god isn’t it beautiful?

fuck.
this shit of a night
is beckoning the blade
cutting into the flesh.

close the gates.

2 Responses to “dylan thank you”

  1. Indigobusiiness 04/03/2009 at 8:52 PM #

    Never before commented here, I have, I think?
    Probably a fortunate thing for you.
    I do like your blog, though, in spite of it.

  2. maria 05/03/2009 at 1:52 PM #

    Dylan is fantastic, and has pulled me through often. Thank you for writing this.

    – God these comments always feel completely pathetic to me and then I wonder why I write them which usually leads to my deleting them, but I am going for it this time.

Leave a Reply

