Showreel #2 (with text)

5 Mar

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "Showreel #2 on Vimeo", posted with vodpod

in ’91 on my first real job out of college i worked with a shite of a man named Kes. he was Lithuanian.
Lietuva!
he was from Vilnius.
he was the east european desk editor and he assigned me the pidliest, measliest shit for stories.
man push cart. cart rolls into ditch.
plus, Kes had a crappy temper and didn’t tolerate any questions.
i was green, straight out of school.
he was insufferable.
i hated him.
i thought he hated me.
when i left for the TV industry, after what seemed like forever, i wrote an internal electronic message
(they had those back then)
informing the entire newsroom (at least 100 staffers) of my move.
no one wrote back or said anything.
except Kes. on my last day.
he came and hugged me and shook my hand and said:
you were always good. you never complained. i hope you find what you’re looking for in television.
weird how these things work out.
it threw off my shit detector for people.
goddamn Kes was a son of a bitch. jesus!
and anyway…i didn’t find what i was looking for in television.
still don’t.

2 Responses to “Showreel #2 (with text)”

  1. JAC 05/03/2009 at 9:51 PM #

    So, uh. I like the post. The story is cool. I keep noticing that my shit detector isn’t as accurate as I once thought.
    What’s up with the reel? Do you know that dude? I like it. Just wondering.

  2. (S)wine 06/03/2009 at 9:15 AM #

    I do not know the artist, I just dig it. and the flash of Vilnius and Lietuva reminded me of a personal story.

Leave a Reply

