Beardbox (Gabriel Shalom) with text

6 Mar

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "Beardbox (Gabriel Shalom)", posted with vodpod

my pops
used to blow into his instrument
incessantly
the machine
he called it
it was an old shaving implement
from the 1930s
made out of silver
you would turn the knob at the bottom
and two little doors would pop
from the top
like some weird pod hatch
exposing the actual blade
which could be removed
or replaced when it became dull
it was on the blade
that pops would blow
for what seemed like hours
after he finished with his face
water running
steam rising
he said
it’s to get all the hairs out properly
they’re like pieces of wire
the hairs
you know
like tiny iron rods
wirework
wirehair
that gets stuck on the sharp edge
of the blade
and dulls it
with time and air
dulls it
then nicks your skin
cuts into it
and then you have to mess with
bits of toilet paper
water running
steam rising
for what seemed like
hours
and so i made a game out of it
every sunday
he blew
and i sampled the violent
forced air
into some kind of beat in my head
to keep entertained
and to keep
from strangling him
water running
steam rising
pops blowing
never
ending

4 Responses to “Beardbox (Gabriel Shalom) with text”

  1. Slyboots 06/03/2009 at 11:29 AM #

    I like the combo multi-media thing. I’ve always wanted to combine writing with music, since I often hear a soundtrack in my head when I read. But that, I suppose, is called a movie. Duh.

  2. (S)wine 06/03/2009 at 12:16 PM #

    I don’t know Sly…maybe it’s not. I often hear rhythms when I write stuff like this and the previous entry. I like the multi-media thing also.

  3. Matt 07/03/2009 at 11:29 PM #

    i love the rhythm to this-it’s forceful and holds no regrets in the beat.

  4. (S)wine 10/03/2009 at 11:57 AM #

    Matt, I agree. I really dig Gabriel’s work.

Leave a Reply

