priorities

4 Jul

i was born on canada day so i should be living there.
every year there’d be fireworks on my birthday only i hate fireworks.
but still, you take what you’re given even if what you’re given is shit.
you take it because that’s what you’re taught by your parents and by most others.
we stood on a long balcony 56 stories high above the concrete
and looked south across the lake and west and east and they were launching them all over.
you couldn’t hear them, just watch the little sputters up against the black sky,
a feeble attempt from 5700 feet above the city.
we drank gin and stood behind countless asians who snapped photos of the redundant scene.
i felt like i should be happy or grateful.
i felt like i should somehow document it all.
but my drink lost its cool crispness in the hot summer air.
and that’s what immediately concerned me.

5 Responses to “priorities”

  1. Erin O'Brien 04/07/2009 at 9:39 AM #

    I do know that drink.

  2. words for guns 05/07/2009 at 9:59 AM #

    Fireworks create fires of sperm in the air. I still don’t get them. I was bored with them as a child. I am bored with them as a bored adult.

  3. Slyboots 05/07/2009 at 12:47 PM #

    So the takeaway message here is Blame Canada? Wha? Am confused. Which is perfectly normal.

    I love fireworks though- they remind me of flowers, only sparkly. I wanted to wear those sparkles when I was little.

  4. daydreamsdandelions 05/07/2009 at 8:50 PM #

    My MIL made us a sake & vodka martini when we visited. It was very cold, and crazy crisp. A very sipping drink. Garnish, ifyou’re up for it, w/ cuke.

    But it was kind of good.

  5. daydreamsdandelions 05/07/2009 at 8:53 PM #

    Oh, and who is that youngish dark haired girl in the photos? You didn’t say… relatiive? Friend? You don’t have to post specifics (I know you’re not big on the personal details.)

    LIke the mac girl. Mine is obsessed w/ the computer but mostly wants the Gummi Bear song.

Leave a Reply

