My Obsession With Leica

29 Aug

443px-Rolleiflex_camera

The absurdity is believing in something other than a cyclical life. You hang around long enough and you start seeing them fall in line and begin to merge into the pre-cut grooves. And off to the slaughterhouse with. Them.
You.
When I was a boy, my grandfather took photographs with a twin-lens reflex camera. I could read by then so I asked him what Leica meant. That was what was written on the apparatus. Leica. And he told me about her.
–It’s actually a Rolleiflex. I scratched in the word Leica myself. With a piece of metal wire.
But it was too late. I was obsessed with Leica. Every night I fell asleep I prayed for Leica. Which was stupid, because Leica had been dead for years. I also prayed that I don’t get swallowed up in the giant maelstrom Captain Nemo and the Nautilus got sucked in.
Sometimes you need to have another perspective. I hated the Soviets. But for different reasons. I hated them for putting that dog up there and letting her starve. Or run out of air.
Asphyxiate.
And all the other monkeys that went up after Leica. Or whatever other kinds of animals they sent. All in the name of Human Progress.
All in the name of Human Progress.
Sometimes you need to have another perspective. When you think of Leica, you think your life is not so bad.

4 Responses to “My Obsession With Leica”

  1. Slyboots 29/08/2009 at 2:36 PM #

    It’s funny- the only thing I morn with the demise of film photography is the death of these old cameras. They are beautiful. They are elegant. They have seen things, and told stories, and been the voices of millions. Sad, really.

  2. (S)wine 29/08/2009 at 5:08 PM #

    When we left Romania for the States, my grandfather had already died, and we had a chance to take his collection of Leicas and Rolleiflexes. We could only leave with two suitcases (our clothes). I’m still sorry about that, even now…30 yrs. later.

  3. Matt 31/08/2009 at 10:36 PM #

    I love those cameras. There was a weight to them, and to use them and change the focus you had to shift your weight. As your body moved the lens contorted in a way to match the goal of the picture. No numerous buttons. Just flesh and blood and mirrors.

    I photographer friend of mine gets all these new cameras that comes out and there are modern cameras that are being made to replicate these ones without being digital and shit.

  4. leicaman 04/09/2009 at 3:17 PM #

    Enjoyed your post…I agree, I have several of these in my collection…they were quite the workhorse…my dad was a professional wedding photographer and used this camera (with eye level prism) for over thirty five years! I will check back to your blog for sure…Tom http://leicaman.wordpress.com/2009/09/02/collecting-the-camera/

Leave a Reply

