True Story

11 Jan

You’re going to make a good story for my daughter, I say.
You think so?
She loves you.
Does she know I can leave a third of my tail behind if I get in trouble?
Mhm. I told you, she loves you, I say.
Where are you going?
To the market, just down the street.
What do you need?
Potatoes, leeks, and Naan bread to dip. Ah, and hummus. To dip in the hummus.
Will you take me there? To the market?
Sure.
The wind pushes its eyelids closed when we reach the speed limit. I pull the button and the glass goes halfway up.
Thanks. What did you do before automatic windows?
There was a little handle that went in a circular motion. We leaned over and hand cranked it up, I say.
Or down.
Or down.
What are you looking for, I say.
A weeping willow. Or a moss-covered tree trunk.
They don’t have such things at the market.
We turn in.
I know that. I’m looking to change homes.
You’re going to make a good story…I know it.
You said that.
We tend to repeat ourselves when we run out of things to talk about and start feeling uncomfortable.
I’ve never tasted cotton candy.
You wouldn’t like it.
Why?
I’m betting you wouldn’t.
When I was small, I used to think sheep were rolling tumbleweeds.
They must have seemed enormous to you, I say.
They still do.
We’re here.
Could you roll it all the way down. Makes it easier to jump out.
Sure.
Thank you for this. This was quite short. It would have taken days otherwise…
You’re welcome. Can I tell my daughter it’s ok to name you anything she wants?
Tell her I once dreamed of being a fashion designer. If you want, I can leave a third of my tail behind for her. As a gift.
You’ll need it for the bad times, I say.
But it’s gone.

2 Responses to “True Story”

  1. Ava Joe 11/01/2011 at 6:51 PM #

    That was unbelievable.

  2. Pruteanu 12/01/2011 at 1:39 PM #

    It really is. I mean, who ever heard of a talking salamander?

Leave a Reply

