Peptidoglycan

16 Mar

Little by little I’ve painted myself into a corner. It’s not an urgent situation; I can always step over the fresh coat of solvent and pigment and walk out with a clean slate (and dirty soles).
How I feel is: gram positive.
Staph.
Strep.
Listeria.
My S-layer is attached to the peptidoglycan layer.
This is what I tell them when they add up my days of truancy and subtract from my pay. I’ve drawn them a tree diagram. They’ve attached it to my records in HR.
How I feel is: Section 8.
But it’s not quite accurate. I can always step over the fresh coat of solvent and pigment and walk out with a clean slate (and dirty soles).
You know that ticklish feeling you get on the inside of your arm when you wake in the middle of the night licking walls, hyperventilating? They have meds for that. They also have rubrics:
Gram-negative.
Gram-indeterminate.
Gram staining.
See also: Carboxydothermus hydrogenoformans
Most pathogenic in humans are Gram-positive organisms. Viral, bacterial, fungal.
Prionic.
The longer a pathogen can survive outside the body the more dangerous it can be to a host.
How I feel is.
3-200 micrometers in length.
Survival rate: 885 days.

Leave a Reply

