Something Old

3 Feb

I found this bike abandoned, in the woods near my house. I nursed it back to health and, although still a bit rusty around the handlebars, I’ve been riding it around on the 5-mile path which I usually run, and which snakes around a beautiful lake and through nice, thick woods. I’ve been thinking about holding on to old, elemental things like my typewriter (which I also recently resuscitated and have begun to use in writing letters) and my turntable which I miss dearly. I have a huge collection of vinyl at my father’s house. It sits on a shelf collecting dust. This bike is so dear to me now; I know it’s a woman’s bike, but I’ve never cared about things like that. In fact, I’m grateful that bloody horizontal, menacing bar isn’t staring at my crotch any longer. The path on which I ride/run is very popular for bikers–but they’re all high-tech guys and gals wearing the traditional Tour de France type garb, and riding $6,000 machines. You should see me on this thing, wearing long pants (it’s still a bit cold), and one of those newsboy caps, as I get blown away by Lance Armstrong wanna-bes. I think I may be reverting. Soon, I will own chickens and pigs and make my own sausage, grow my own veggies. Something about everything distracting us that is revolting for me; computers, devices, the online world is killing me. I don’t desire to speak to people any longer because they’re constantly checking their phones. This is turning into a rant, and I promised none of this. I am ecstatic about this old bike. It makes all kinds of noise when I pedal it. It has one speed, and the brakes are applied when you reverse the pedaling motion. Everything old is new. And good. Even if a bit rusty.

5 Responses to “Something Old”

  1. gamefaced 03/02/2012 at 2:02 PM #

    sweet bike. and i beg you to rescue your record collection. i listen to my records on a fisher price record player from ebay. works just fine.

    i am still refusing to get a cell phone. but the appeal of such a gadget is wearing me down. i guess at this point in the game, what will all the payphones gone, i need to face facts and get on board. %#$!^%$^%$@ tracking devices within every last one of them (*&$(*&@#$*

  2. Lx 03/02/2012 at 2:37 PM #

    Oh the collection is not going anywhere. I must first think about investing in a turntable/speakers/amp…that type of thing. I don’t really know anymore what one needs, when it comes to audio. Seems like I’ve been listening to music via my laptop or iPod for ages. My cell phone is a regular phone; not a smart one. But it has never gotten lost, so it must have somewhat of a brain.

  3. culturepants 03/02/2012 at 6:20 PM #

    I went mountainbiking in Kelowna on my grandmother’s bike which looked quite similar to that one. Same tires. So, I say good on ye!

    I still have the old-fashioned receiver, turntable, speakers setup and they still sell all of it. The stuff looks a little slicker now but it’s not a whole new thing to learn. I highly recommend it.

  4. Lx 03/02/2012 at 7:22 PM #

    Ok good to know. Where, though? Big retail chains like Best Buy types? Or…little indie stores? I’m really considering going back to the stylus/turntable business.

  5. culturepants 04/02/2012 at 9:23 AM #

    I tend to look at the smaller stores but I imagine Best Buy would have speakers and amps and CD players still. Turntables, I dunno.

Leave a Reply

