Toy Soldiers

14 May

I’ve a new piece up at The Miscreant called “Toy Soldiers.” I hope you like it.

It’s not really new writing from me; in fact it’s quite old. But this was a piece I just had kept to myself and it was doing nothing. I decided to put it up on Fictionaut but was immediately solicited by Amanda Harris, editor of The Miscreant. For that, I thank her and I’m grateful.

You know, this piece is so old in fact that I’m not really sure if the original intent was to develop it into something longer or just leave it as is. I was trying out all sorts of things back in ’09 when I wrote “Toy Soldiers.” Definitely I can see Roddy Doyle’s influence on me then, and I may have been reading his The Woman Who Walked Into Doors as well as his follow-up to that, Paula Spencer. Doyle has always had this…magic with dialogue. I love him so.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

