floyd (pink)

12 Mar

i grew up on him
smoked on him
locked myself in my room with him
i first found him
discarded in a trash can in Lakewood Ohio
dark side first then came animals then the rest
i must’ve been the only person in my circle
who liked final cut
and one of the handful who listened to k.a.o.s. and called waters
from that phone booth set up in the middle of the venue
in Landover Maryland sometime in ’87
someone took my request
but never played it
the night after the party i was missing:
cold cuts from the fridge a polaroid camera a religious icon
and a tape version of The Wall
the meat the painting and the 680 single lens reflex
left me cold
true
but after the missing cassette
i never again threw a party
and i never again will

One Response to “floyd (pink)”

  1. valerie 12/03/2010 at 2:25 PM #

    ‘i must’ve been the only person in my circle
    who liked final cut’

    same here.

Leave a comment